Thursday, October 25, 2012

Pumpkin Picking at Jones Family Farms

One of my favorite places in the state of Connecticut is Jones Family Farms.  During the summer I rarely miss one of their Friday Farmer’s Markets which are held outside of their winery.  You can sample their wines with a wine tasting inside or buy a glass and sit outside on their beautiful patio and enjoy some live music… and of course buy local produce and products from several different vendors!

jonesfarmersmarket

There is also blueberry and strawberry picking to be done in the summertime! Which, by the way, got my son – the pickiest child in the world – to eat a blueberry.  However, the Jones Farms blueberries have ruined all other blueberries for me.  They. are. so. good.

I know, all this talk about farmer’s markets, wine and berry picking is making you wish it was summertime, right? But wait! There’s more! (haha) one of our favorite fall family activities is pumpkin picking at the farm! Jones’ has so much to offer.  Every year there is a different theme set up on Pumpkinseed Hill.  This year it was The Wizard of Oz!

jones

We were lucky enough to be able to go on a weekday this year.  It was quiet and peaceful walking around with the family, checking out pumpkins and taking in the beautiful view. 

jones1

jones2

 

We took a nice long hay ride through their fields.  They have A LOT of land! Then we came back and made our final pumpkin decisions. 

Then we grabbed some cider and checked out their gourds. Oh my gourd, there were so many! They had these awesome boxes put together with a selection of different gourds and recipe cards, how cool? And, of course, we snapped a bunch of pics on their picturesque property!

I’ve always wanted to check out the farm at Christmas time; they have trees too!

And I’ve always wanted to check out one of their cooking classes or wine appreciation classes they have available in their Harvest Kitchen.

My kids absolutely love visiting Jones Family Farm and I think it’s important that they grow up having an appreciation for farms.

What is your favorite thing to do at your local farm?

Until next time!

farmboys

18 comments:

  1. Awe, looks like a fun filled family day. We love pumpkin picking as well. BTW I envy being able to enjoy a farmer's market with wine.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Sweet little boys! I love this time of year and visit my local stand often, right now its all about pumpkins, apples and squash :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Oh, my gourd, what great pics, Sarah! Looks like you all had a fun day!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I have to admit that I still haven't made a point of getting to our local farm. This summer, for sure!! We have a local farm that has great events all the time. Looks like a great time!

    ReplyDelete
  5. That looks fun. We haven't gone this year, but it looks like the weather was your friend too

    ReplyDelete
  6. Great pictures! That looks like so much fun, and your little guys are absolutely adorable.

    ReplyDelete
  7. We have a few great places near me that are like that. I love all those fall activities pumpkin picking, hay rides, bonfires, corn mazes, face painting, etc.

    ReplyDelete
  8. I've heard so many wonderful things about Jones Farms. Looks like a lovely day!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Great review, so well written! love, GaGa

    ReplyDelete
  10. dansko outlet, http://www.dansko-shoes.us/
    coach outlet, http://www.coachoutletstores.com.co/
    adidas wings, http://www.adidaswings.net/
    soccer jerseys, http://www.cheapsoccerjersey.net/
    coach outlet online, http://www.coachoutletonline.in.net/
    swarovski outlet, http://www.swarovski-outlet.co.uk/
    ugg boots, http://www.uggbootscheap.eu.com/
    tory burch outlet, http://www.toryburchoutletonline.in.net/
    rolex watches uk, http://www.rolexwatches-uk.co.uk/
    michael kors outlet online, http://www.michaelkorsoutletonline.in.net/
    ed hardy clothing, http://www.edhardy.us.com/
    air jordan shoes, http://www.airjordanshoes.us.org/
    cyber monday deals, http://www.blackfridaydeals.us.com/
    cheap nfl jerseys, http://www.cheap-nfljersey.us.com/
    nobis outlet, http://www.wellensteyn.com.co/
    michael kors wallet, http://www.michaelkorswallet.net/
    the north face jackets, http://www.thenorthfacejacket.us.com/
    herve leger, http://www.herveleger.us.com/
    air max 2015, http://www.airmax2015.in.net/
    cheap mlb jerseys, http://www.cheapmlbjerseys.us.com/
    ugg outlet, http://www.snowboots.us.com/
    hermes bags, http://www.hermesbags.co.uk/
    woolrich outlet, http://www.canadagoosejackets.in.net/
    christian louboutin uk, http://www.christianlouboutinoutlet.org.uk/
    cyber monday 2015, http://www.blackfriday2015.in.net/
    air max 90, http://www.airmax90.us.com/
    hogan, http://www.scarpehogan-outlet.it/
    michael kors outlet, http://www.michaelkorsoutletcanada.in.net/
    1009maoqiuyun

    ReplyDelete
  11. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete

Web Statistics