Saturday, October 20, 2012

Soda Stream Fun

Thanks to the awesome folks at Mohegan Sun and Cait from Cait plus Ate, I now have my very own soda stream! The soda stream gives me the ability to turn tap water into sparkling water in under 30 seconds, with no clean-up.  It’s pretty awesome, although, we don’t really drink a lot of soda (unless it’s mixed with rum… shhh!) But, we do love seltzer and now we have it at our fingertips!raspberrymintseltzer

I wanted to play around a little bit and experiment with different flavors we could add in.  Because, really, who doesn’t love flavor? The first thing I tried out was raspberry mint.  I added a 1/2 a cup of frozen raspberries, a few sprigs of fresh mint (chopped), a 1/2 a tsp of a sugar & stevia blend to 1 cup of water and brought it all to a boil.  Then, I turned down the heat and let it simmer for 15 minutes.  I strained the liquid into a measuring cup and poured it into the sparkling water I had made in the soda stream.  So easy!

sodastream

 

It was subtle, but it really added a nice, natural, refreshing flavor!

 

Next up was blueberry peach. I had a hard time sacrificing my fresh blueberries and peaches for my little flavor experiment but, I had a feeling it would be good. And I was right!

 

 

blueberrypeachI used a 1/2 a cup of fresh blueberries, 1 whole peach (chopped) and a 1/2 a tsp of a sugar & stevia blend.  I added it all to 1 cup of water and brought to a boil just like I had done before.  After about 15 minutes, I took a hand held potato masher to it and gently mushed everything up a bit.  Then, I let it simmer for another 5 minutes.

I strained it into a measuring cup and put the juices into the sparkling water! Another great flavor combo! This one was a little stronger than than the raspberry mint, probably because of the mashing and the extra cook time.

blueberrypeachseltzer

I think I might try something a little more adventurous next time, like maybe a strawberry basil? What flavor would you try?

13 comments:

  1. Strawberry and basil sounds yummy. I love my soda stream. I add the berries, citrus and/or herbs right to the water, but a simple syrup is brilliant.

    ReplyDelete
  2. That does look delicious. I don't have one, but have been looking at it for a while

    ReplyDelete
  3. I love that you played around with it. I really have my eye on one of these, so I'll be coming to you for ideas if/when I finally get one!

    ReplyDelete
  4. YAY so glad you are putting this to good and delish use. Makes me happy. Blueberry peach, what a great combo! Let me know if you want me to send this post to the folks at Mohegan unless you have already done so!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. If you would like to share it with them, that would be great! Thanks again!! :)

      Delete
  5. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete

Web Statistics